Idaho Aircraft Registration FAQ
Why did Aeronautics eliminate pilot registration?

Most states in the Northwest are no longer registering pilots. We felt that asking for two registration
payments (both airman and aircraft) was a cumbersome process, especially with a nominal airman
fee and two-year fee schedule.

Why did the aircraft registration fee increase this year?

The registration fee is now 3-cents per pound of maximum certified gross weight, with a minimum
fee of $20 and maximum fee of $600. This is the first registration fee increase in 23-years.
Aeronautics only receives funding from two sources: aviation fuel tax and aircraft registrations. With
this funding, we are able to help maintain 31 backcountry airstrips and support the other 90
airports, offer aviation education, and search for overdue aircraft. Without the increase, some of
these things would have been reduced or cut altogether.

What is maximum certified gross weight?

Each manufacturer determines, through testing and certification, the gross weight of the aircraft.
The maximum certified gross weight is the aircraft fully equipped and serviced for operation,
including the weight of the crew, passengers, fuel, personal equipment, and load. Review your
aircraft owner’s manual to verify the maximum certified gross weight of your aircraft.

What specific projects is the aircraft registration revenue supporting this year?
e Airport maintenance/improvements:
0 Carey: Boundary markers,
Downey/Hyde Memorial: Perimeter fencing and apron rehabilitation,
Glenns Ferry: Threshold relocation and lights,
Mud Lake: Runway seal coat and markings,
Nez Perce: Taxiway and access road construction,
Parma: Pavement rehabilitation,
0 Rockford: Perimeter fencing, apron paving, and plat hangars
e Aviation education: ACE Academy, Aviation Art Contest,
e Search and Rescue: For searches throughout the year with two major searches so far in 2014.
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What happens if | choose NOT to register my aircraft with the state each year?

By *Idaho statute, an unairworthy aircraft OR aircraft that does not reside in Idaho for 90
consecutive days during the year is not required to be registered. However, aircraft based in Idaho
that are not registered annually, including unairworthy aircraft, are subject to personal property tax
by the county.

Does the plane have to be worth at least $100,000 to be exempt from personal property tax
assessment?

According to Idaho Taxation Statute 63-602, the new $100,000 personal property tax exemption
does not apply to aircraft, motor vehicles, or recreational vehicles.

What is the definition of an airworthy aircraft?
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According to *Title 21-114, “An airworthy aircraft has a currently valid airworthiness certificate and
a currently valid annual inspection or progressive inspection system issued by the appropriate
federal agency during any part of the registration year....Those aircraft in nonairworthy condition
that are not operated during any part of the registration year are not required to register but may,
at the owner’s discretion, be registered in lieu of personal property tax.”

Why do I have to report Dealer-related aircraft to the Division of Aeronautics?

Aeronautics needs to know if your aircraft is held for sale under a dealership, rather than being
flown for personal use. By submitting the proper documentation, we can flag this status in our
computer system and you will not continue to receive renewal fee notifications. The aircraft will also
be excluded from the list of unregistered aircraft for personal property assessment. For the same
reasons, we also need to know all the N-numbers of the planes held for sale by aircraft dealers.

What is the purpose of the Aircraft Status Change Form and who needs to submit it?

The yellow Aircraft Registration Status Form we include with each renewal fee notification is a
document that has to be completed and returned to us each year that you do NOT register your
aircraft.

Why do I continue to receive renewal notifications when | have already reported that my plane
was completely destroyed?

Periodically we receive notifications from the FAA regarding aircraft that have an Idaho address and
have not been registered with the state. If your aircraft is permanently destroyed, and the FAA does
not have this information, then our computer system will continue to generate renewal fee
notifications for the plane.

Why do I continue to receive renewal notifications as a business owner with all of my planes
operating outside of the state?

Every year, you will receive a first notification from us in December. We assume that the aircraft
may return to Idaho at some point, and our computer system is annually re-populated with every
unregistered aircraft listed with an Idaho address from the FAA. To stop receiving further
notifications throughout the year, you need to submit the Aircraft Registration Status Form to us.

If my aviator spouse passes away, what do | need to do about the aircraft-related government
notifications?

If the aircraft is still in your possession and it is airworthy, then it must be registered. With a quick
phone call, we can change the name on the aircraft to reflect a trustee or estate name. If the aircraft
is destroyed, the FAA needs to be notified, as well as the Division of Aeronautics. Regardless of the
condition of the plane, please know that if you maintain the N-number you will continue to receive
notifications from us.

*See Idaho Code 21-114 and IDAPA 39.04.05



