
To the Parents of: Date:

Your teen was stopped today for a traffic violation. Please speak to your teen driver about the responsibility that
comes with the privilege of operating a motor vehicle. This brochure contains important information parents
should know on how to help make teens safer drivers. It is our responsibility to enforce the law to prevent crashes
from happening and we need the cooperation and partnership of parents, teens, and the community to stop
needless teen fatalities and injuries before they occur.

Title & Name:

Agency:

Type of violation:

Law Enforcement Agency
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Important Notice about
Your Teenager’s Driving

From Your Local Law Enforcement Agency

Idaho Transportation Department

and the National Safety Council
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Teens are involved in four times more aggressive
driving crashes than all other drivers in Idaho.
Teens are involved in four times more aggressive
driving crashes than all other drivers in Idaho.
Aggressive driving behaviors includes speeding, driving too fast for
conditions, following too close, failure to yield, running stop signs,
and disregarding signals. Crashes are not random events, science tells
us there is a pattern to teen crashes – we now know the when, where,
and why. By knowing the 5 points listed below, you as a parent can
help reduce your teen’s chances of being in a crash:

1. Teens are at the greatest risk of being in a crash during the first
12-24 months after they get their drivers license.

2. Two conditions are more dangerous for a teen driver, they are:
driving with teen passengers, and driving at night.

3. Risky behaviors–not wearing a seat belt, drinking or driving
aggressively–are choices drivers make. These behaviors raise the
stakes in what’s already a high-risk situation for inexperienced
teen drivers.

4. Drivers Education will teach a teen to operate a vehicle and the rules of the road; it takes a combination of practice, gradual
exposure to higher risk situations and ongoing parental involvement to reduce a teen’s chance of crashing once they have a
driver’s license.

5. The greatest safety benefit comes from parents and teens working together to create a driving agreement. Set clear expectations
by listing privileges, restrictions, and what a teen must do to prove he/she is ready for increased driving independence.

Violations Consequences
Drove under the influence ..............................Lose driving privileges for

Ticket for speeding (other) ............................Lose driving privileges for

Passengers did not wear seat belt ...................Lose driving privileges for

Lied about where he/she was with car ...........Lose driving privileges for

Came home late without calling ......................Lose driving privileges for

Violated the driving agreement .......................Lose driving privileges for

Specify                                           .................Lose driving privileges for

We understand and agree to these driving conditions and rules.
Teen: Parent: Date:

Teen/Parent Agreement

Stage 1: During the first 1-3 months
no driving after sundown or 9 pm,
no teen passengers, drive only in dry
weather, only on neighborhood roads.

Stage 2: During the first 3-6 months
no driving after 10 pm, only one teen
passenger during the day, drive only
in dry weather or light rain
conditions, drive only on local and
neighborhood roads.

Stage 3: During the first 6-9 months
no driving after 11 pm, no more than
one teen passenger during the day
and one at night, drive in dry weather
or light rain conditions, drive on local
roads only, no highways unless an
adult is present.

Stage 4: During the first 9-12 months
no driving after midnight, up to two
teen passengers during the day, only
one teen passenger at night, drive
most weather during the day and
moderate weather after dark, driving
on most roads, no highways at night
unless an adult is present.

Develop Driving
Skills in Stages


