— Alive at 25 ... and headed to college —

'Buckle Up for Bobby' scholarships awarded safe-driving essays

New Alive at 25 classes scheduled

  • Meridian Police Dept. Sept. 14
  • Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office Sept. 14
  • Boise Police Dept. Sept. 19
  • Nampa Police Dept. Sept. 21
  • Blackfoot Police Dept. Sept. 23
    Caldwell Police Dept. Sept. 26

Go to www.idahoteendriving.org for more information about Alive at 25 or www.idsafedriver.org to register for the class.

Idaho’s Alive at 25 free driver awareness courses teach young drivers, ages 15 to 24, the importance and value of safe and defensive driving. They also helped provide some cash to students for college this fall, thanks to a local non-profit organization.

Eight Idaho students who participated in Alive at 25 programs and submitted winning essays were awarded the first Bobby Rogers and Tiffany Walters Memorial Scholarships from the Buckle Up for Bobby organization. The $500 scholarships were created to encourage safe driving habits among young drivers and passengers.

The students were graduates of Idaho Alive at 25 classes offered by Aaron Coleman, Nampa Police Department; Mark Ford, Meridian Police Department; David Gomez, Meridian Police Department; Andrew Hitt, Idaho State Police Region 4; Dale Johnson, Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office; Glen Rawson, Boise Police Department; Dave Thomas, Boise Police Department; and Jay Warren, Canyon County Sheriff’s Office.

In Idaho, 42 law enforcement officers, representing 19 agencies, are available to deliver Alive at 25 programs. They are offered in cooperation with ITD, the Colorado State Patrol Family Foundation and the National Safety Council.

Receiving scholarships for 2013 are: Ryan Orlando  (Meridian), Kylie Falk  (Boise State University), Lindsay Gunter (Meridian), Alex Thackery (Meridian), Kelsey McMorrow (Meridian), JC Kennedy (Nampa), Zoe Ball (Coeur d’Alene) and Courtney Haight (Kimberly).

Photo: A new year for Alive at 25 in Idaho brings a new logo for the statewide program created by John Gonzales Jr. The logo asks “R U A Defensive Driver?” and provides a QR code to link to more information (left). Buckle up for Bobby Scholarship winners (right photo) from the left are: JC Kennedy, Courtney Haight, Alex Thackery, Kylie Falk, and Ryan Orlando. Not pictured are Kelsey McMorow, Zoe Ball and Lindsay Gunter.

Published 8-30-13