Projects, photographs compete for national AASHTO awards

Voters will determine the fate of an ITD project that is in contention for a national award and for photographs that represent individuals who shape the nation’s transportation system.

The Sand Creek Byway was chosen this month as one of the top 10 finalists for America’s Transportation Award. Judges will review the finalists to determine the grand-prize project winner. A people’s choice award also will be presented for the project receiving the most public votes in daily balloting.

To vote for the ITD project, visit the America’s Transportation Awards website: and select the “vote” graphic on the right. A valid email address is required so ballot counters can assure no one exceeds the 10-vote daily limit.

Individuals are eligible to cast a maximum of 10 votes per day for the people's choice award through 3 p.m. (MST), Oct. 2.

The annual competition is sponsored by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.

Twenty-four states entered a collective 36 projects in the categories of “Ahead of Schedule,” “Under Budget,” and “Best Use of Innovation.” The 10 finalists received the highest number of overall points during four regional contests, representing each part of the country. The Sand Creek Byway emerged from the Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (WASHTO) competition as the best project completed ahead of schedule.

“The 10 projects competing for top honors have made incredible impacts on their communities,” said Bud Wright, AASHTO executive director. “The America’s Transportation Awards competition was created to highlight all that our state transportation departments do each day to deliver quality, impactful transportation projects ahead of schedule, under their projected budgets, and through exceptional innovation. We are very proud of these state DOTs and their outstanding projects.”

AASHTO will present a $10,000 grant to non-profit organizations on behalf of the grand prize and people’s choice winners.

The other states represented in the national competition are: California, Georgia, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, Rhode Island and Utah.

AASHTO also is accepting votes for photographs that represent the Faces of Transportation, an annual competition that depicts people engaged in transportation projects. ITD submitted seven photographs for consideration; they are listed under “Steve Grant: Idaho Transportation Department.”

To view and vote on ITD’s entries go to:

Individuals can vote for any or all of ITD’s images but are limited to one completed electronic ballot. The photographer who submitted the winning people’s choice award and grand-prize winner will receive $500 from AASHTO. Three other prizes of $125 will be awarded for general public and state department of transportation entrants.

One of the four randomly rotating banner photographs at the top of the Faces of Transportation website (a helmet-wearing motorcyclist shown above) was a recent national winner submitted by ITD Communications Specialist Mel Coulter.

Published 9-13-13