ITD's Communications office garners record 12 awards

ITD's communication efforts earned a dozen awards from the Idaho Press Club in their "Best of 2014" awards Saturday night, April 25, in Boise. Six of the 12 awards were for first-place efforts in various public affairs and public relations categories.

Approximately 160 news media and public-relations professionals from throughout the state gathered for the awards presentation.

ITD's first-place efforts were recognized for feature writing, internal newsletter, public service campaign, general excellence website, special-purpose website, and online-only video program in public affairs.

While the 12 awards are a record for ITD's staff, success is not uncommon for the Communications office — the office has won 42 Idaho Press Club awards in the last five years.

It marked the seventh year in a row ITD's Communications office has been recognized for writing excellence. The office also has been recognized by the press club for exemplary achievement in media campaigns, public service campaigns, media kits, publications, online public involvement efforts, special-purpose website, script writing, social media, and brand-management initiatives over the years. Here is the full list of awards:

Feature Writing, 1st Place – Bruce King for "Motorists and Moose"
Feature Writing, 3rd Place – Reed Hollinshead for "Historic Volatility"
Editorial Writing, 2nd Place – Bruce King
Media Kit, 2nd Place – Reed Hollinshead, Dave Butzier, Bruce Harral, Langdon Group for "Highway 16 ribbon cutting"
Media Kit, 3rd Place – Reed Hollinshead, Merrill Sharp, Daris Bruce, RBCI for "Gowen Blasting"
Internal Newsletter, 1st Place - Bruce King for "6 Bits"
Media Campaign, Honorable Mention - Steve Grant, Reed Hollinshead, Rik Hinton, Pauline Davis, Dave Tuttle, Mark Hall, for Veterans Drivers License Designation
Public Service Campaign, 1st Place – Pauline Davis, Steve Grant, Mark Hall, Reed Hollinshead for "Choose Your Ride"
Website General Excellence PR, 1st Place – Tony Garcia, Reed Hollinshead, Adam Rush, RBCI for "Broadway Interchange Construction"
Website Special Purpose PR, 1st Place – Adam Rush, Tony Garcia, Dave Tuttle, Mark Hall for "Broadway Bridge Replacement"
Best Online-Only Program, Public Affairs, 1st Place – Jennifer Gonzalez, Mark Hall, Dave Tuttle for "Aviation Safety Standdown"
Best Online-Only Program, Public Affairs, 2nd Place – Jayme Coonce, Bryon Breen, Dave Tuttle, Mark Hall, RBCI – "Meridian Interchange Construction"

Published 05-01-15