Healy wins AASHTO Quality Audit award

Idaho Transportation Department Principal Auditor Sandra Healy was recently named recipient of the Dave Campbell Quality Award by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO). The award recognizes significant contributions to the State DOT auditing community. 

The award was presented by the AASHTO Administrative Subcommittee on Internal and External Audit at its annual meeting in July 2015.

Sandra is the second member of ITD’s Office of Internal Review to be awarded the Dave Campbell Quality Award in the last few years.  In 2012, Mike Cram was honored with this award for serving an important role on the AASHTO Consultant Audit Guide Development.

Healy led the effort to streamline the Internal Audit Process at the department by developing a new Internal Attestation Audit Program.  She has dedicated time to develop the AASHTO Internal Audit Guide, which assists ITD and audit groups from other state departments of transportation to streamline and improve the quality and consistency of internal audit procedures.  Healy also assisted the AASHTO Audit Subcommittee in developing Remote Peer Review procedures, resulting in State DOT audit staffs’ achieving quality assurance reviews with little or no travel.

Healy also served on several peer reviews, which benefits ITD’s Office of Internal Review by bringing insight of best audit practices from other states and sharing ours with them. Sandra took additional initiative with her personal time and cost to achieve the Certified Government Financial Manager (CGFM) certification. 

Healy served on the board of the Idaho state chapter of the Association of Government Accountants (AGA).  In the role as chair of membership, Sandra was recognized for helping the chapter obtain the most new members, 25.  This effort resulted in her being honored with a national award at the 2015 AGA National Professional Development Conference in July 2015. 

These national awards serve to support ITD’s goal of being the best transportation department in the country.












Published 07-31-15