
CHAPTER 1
LICENSING INFORMATION

INTRODUCTION
As more motorists share Idaho’s streets and Scenic Highways, it becomes
increasingly important that you always drive courteously and safely.
Becoming a safe driver takes time and practice. By knowing and following
the “rules of the road,” Idaho's traffic laws, and knowing what the signs and
signals mean, you will be able to move smoothly and safely in a variety of
traffic situations. You should learn and practice driving safely, defensively,
and with common sense. Your life as well as the lives of your family,
friends, and other drivers depends on it.

LICENSING INFORMATION 
Anyone who operates a motor vehicle on the public roads in Idaho is
required to have a valid driver's license. You can be licensed in Idaho when
you are 15 years old. However, if you are under 17 years old, you must first
successfully complete an approved driver’s training program. Under
Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License Program, you must then complete a
Supervised Instruction Period (SIP). After completing the SIP, you will be
eligible to apply for a driver’s license. This license will be restricted to
driving during daylight hours only until you are 16 years old. 

If you are under 16 years of age, you are only authorized to drive during
daylight hours—unless you are supervised by a valid, licensed driver who
is at least 21 years old and is sitting in the front seat beside you (no other
passengers are allowed in the front seat). Daylight hours are defined as
from “1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.”

When moving to Idaho you will need to apply for an Idaho driver's license
within 90 days of residing in Idaho, whether your out-of-state license has
expired or not. If you have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL), you are
required to be licensed in Idaho within 30 days of residing in Idaho.
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Students attending a college or university in Idaho and members of the U.S.
Military on active duty and their dependents who hold a valid drivers
license from another state or country and who claim residency in that state
or country, are not required to obtain an Idaho driver’s license.
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Idaho driver’s licenses, instruction permits, or identification cards are
issued through the county sheriff’s offices. You may apply at the
sheriff’s office most convenient to you.

LICENSE TYPES
• Class A, B, and C licenses are Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDLs)

that allow a person to operate certain types of commercial vehicles. A
commercial vehicle, for driver-licensing purposes, is a vehicle that
either has a manufactured gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds
or more, is placarded for hazardous materials, or designed to carry 16
people or more. See the Commercial Driver’s License Manual for
detailed information about commercial driver licensing applications
and requirements.

• Class D licenses allow drivers to operate non-commercial motor
vehicles. 

• Class D Instruction Permits allow people to practice driving a motor
vehicle for 180 days when accompanied by an adult (someone who is
18 years old, or older) who holds a valid driver’s license. These
permits are available if you are at least 15 years old and have
successfully completed an approved or accredited driver training
program and the Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL). If you
have not successfully completed driver training and the GDL Program,
you must pass a written knowledge test and be at least 17 years old to
be issued an instruction permit.

• Motorcycle (M) Endorsements are required on any Class D or
Commercial Driver’s License when a motorcycle rider operates on
public roadways. A motorcycle is defined as a motor vehicle that has a
seat or saddle for the use of the rider and is designed to travel with not
more than three wheels in contact with the ground. Tractors and
mopeds are not classified as motorcycles. You must pass a written and
a skills test before receiving a motorcycle endorsement.  If you are
surrendering an out-of-state license that has a motorcycle endorsement,
you are still required to pass a written motorcycle knowledge test. If
your out-of-state license has been expired for one year or longer, you
will also be required to take the skills test. See the Motorcycle
Operator’s Manual for more information about this endorsement.

• Motorcycle Instruction Permits are available for those who want to
learn how to operate a motorcycle. You must have a valid Idaho
driver’s license to apply for a motorcycle instruction permit. You must
also take and pass a written knowledge test. (See the Motorcycle
Operator’s Manual for more information.)
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DRIVER TRAINING
An approved Idaho driver-training program consists of a required 1,800
minutes (30 hours) of classroom instruction, 360 minutes (6 hours) of in-
car observation in a driver-training car, and 360 minutes (6 hours) of
behind the wheel driving with a driver training instructor. Driver training is
required for anyone under 17 years old who is applying for an Idaho
driver’s license.

The Department of Education provides approved courses through
commercial and public schools. Most Idaho school districts offer driver-
training programs in cooperation with the Department of Education. The
courses are open to all Idaho residents between the ages of 14 1/2 and 21,
even if they are not public school students. 

If you are under 17 years old and have completed driver training in another
state (whether you have been issued a license in that state or not), you will
be required to provide acceptable proof of driver training completion that
meets or exceeds Idaho’s standards. If the program you completed out of
state does not meet Idaho standards, you will be required to take an Idaho-
approved driver training course. If you are not surrendering an out-of-state
license, you will also be required to complete a supervised driving period
prior to licensing.

DRIVER TRAINING / SUPERVISED 
INSTRUCTION PERMITS
You must have a driver training permit/supervised instruction permit to
attend any commercial or public school driver training program. While you
are enrolled in a driver’s training program, these permits are valid only to
operate a vehicle with a driver training instructor. When you have
successfully completed a driver’s training program and the instructor has
signed the permit, you will be eligible to begin the supervised instruction
period required by Idaho’s Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) program.

The documents required to get a driver-training permit are the same as
those required for a driver’s license and are listed on the following pages.
The certified birth certificate you provide must show mother/father for
liability purposes. A driver training permit expires one year from the issue
date and the fee is not refundable. Driver training permits for public school
programs and commercial driver training programs are different. You may
not use a public school permit for a commercial program nor use a
commercial permit for a public school program.

GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE PROGRAM
Effective January 1, 2001, anyone under 17 years of age who has not been
issued a driver’s license in Idaho must successfully complete an approved
driver training program and comply with the requirements of the Graduated
Driver Licensing (GDL) Program. Under the GDL Program, you will be
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required to complete a minimum four-month, violation-free supervised
instruction period, during which you must:

• be accompanied by a supervising valid licensed driver at least 21 years
old who is occupying the seat beside the driver (no other passengers
are allowed in the front seat),

• assure that all occupants are wearing seat belts or child restraints if
required,

• observe all laws regarding alcohol and other intoxicating substances,
and

• accumulate at least 50 hours of supervised driving time, ten hours of
which must be at night.

If you are convicted of violating any traffic laws while you are operating
under the Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP), the permit will be cancelled
and you must reapply for a new SIP. Your minimum four (4) months of
supervised driving begins all over again with the issuance of a new permit.
Once you have successfully met the requirements of the GDL, you will be
required to take and pass a skills test and a written knowledge test before
receiving a driver’s license. A parent or legal guardian may accompany you
during the skills test after signing a liability waiver.

DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR LICENSING
Idaho considers new applicants to be individuals who either (1) have never
been licensed in Idaho or any other state or jurisdiction, (2) are returning to
Idaho after being licensed in another state or jurisdiction, (3) when
surrendering a license from another jurisdiction, or (4) have let their Idaho
driver’s license expire for one year or more. 

If you are a new applicant for a driver’s license, instruction permit, identity
card, or driver training permit, you are required to provide the following to
the driver’s license examiner:

• Proof of Idaho Residency - You must reside inside Idaho’s borders
to be issued an Idaho driver’s license or ID card. You may be required
to show proof of residency with documents such as lease or rental
agreements, utility bills, employment records, school enrollment
records, etc. Your home address (where you live) cannot be your
workplace, vacation residence, or a part-time residence.

• Proof of Age and Identity - You will need to present two or more
primary and/or secondary documents from the following lists (at least
one from the primary documents list). One document should be a
certified original birth certificate and the other must contain a photo of
you. If you are a new applicant and are surrendering a current, valid
driver’s license or identification card meeting the conditions listed
under primary documents, you do not need to provide any additional
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documents. If you have a non-U.S. driver’s license, you may be required to
provide additional documents.

Primary documents must contain your full legal name and date of
birth. These documents must be verifiable as authentic by the agency
issuing them. The following are examples of acceptable primary
documents:

1. Out-of-state driver’s license or ID card (with a photo) not expired
for five years or more.

2. Idaho driver’s license or ID card not expired for five years or
more.

3. Certified original birth certificate or certified abstract of birth
certificate.

4. Valid Immigration and Naturalization (INS) card.
5. U.S. military photo identification card.
6. Valid passport with a valid U.S. VISA
7. Concealed weapons permit issued by the state of Idaho not expired

for one year or more.
8.  Pilot’s license with photo not expired for one year or more.
9.  Veteran’s Universal Access Card, with photo.

10.  Native American ID card, with photo

Secondary documents will assist in confirming your identity, and must
contain your name and enough information to establish proof of all or
part of what is contained on the primary document. The following are
examples of acceptable secondary documents:

1. Out-of-state issued driver’s license or ID card with a photo, not
expired for five years or more.

2 U.S. military discharge paper (form # DD214).
3. Certified marriage certificate meeting Idaho standards with seal

and document number showing that it was recorded.
4. Certified divorce document from a court or state vital statistics

office. 
5. Original naturalization/citizenship document.
6. Guardianship or custody documents, notarized or court certified.
7. Certified court name-change document.
8. School transcript.
9. Home school document.

10. Junior or senior high school (not college or University) photo
activity card. 

11. Junior or senior high school, college, or military yearbook/annual.
12. Printed photo directory of a religious organization.
13. Newspaper clipping with photo and name (if you can be identified

in the photo).
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14. Photo ID card issued by the Salt Lake City Mexican Consulate
(only if it was issued for a five-year period and is not expired).

15. Verified work ID card with a photo, accepted at county discretion.
16. Idaho Automobile dealer/salesman photo ID card.
17. Idaho Department of Corrections photo ID card.
18. Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections photo ID card.

NOTE:  Either the primary or secondary document must contain a photo of
you. If your document is not written in English, you must have an
accompanying acceptable English-language document or an
acceptable certified translation. All documents submitted must
be acceptable to the examiner or the Idaho Transportation
Department.

• Social Security Card -  In order to be issued an Idaho driver’s license,
instruction permit, or ID card, your Social Security Number must be
verified. Bring your social security number or the original card issued
by the Social Security Administration. Social Security Numbers are
not printed on Idaho driver’s licenses or ID cards.

If you do not have a Social Security Number, you may still apply for a
driver’s license or ID card if you provide a letter from the Social
Security Administration stating that you do not have a Social Security
Number. Be sure you have an acceptable legal presence document
before seeking the letter from the Social Security Administration.
Acceptable legal-presence documents include:

- Certified original U.S. Birth Certificate
- Original Certificate of Naturalization/Citizenship
- Valid passport with valid U.S. VISA
- Valid INS Photo Card/Document (I-94 refugee, I-551, etc.)

• Visual / Medical Certification -  If you have a visual and/or medical
condition that could affect your driving, you may be required to
provide a statement from your physician certifying that you can
operate a vehicle safely. The necessary form may be obtained from the
driver’s license examiner at your county sheriff’s office.

• One License Law -  When applying for an Idaho Class D (non-
commercial) driver’s license, you must surrender any driver’s license
or ID card issued to you from another state, U.S. Territory, or the
District of Columbia.

Foreign Licenses - If you are applying for an Idaho Commercial
Driver’s License (CDL), or if you hold a CDL issued by a foreign
country, you must surrender any driver’s license(s) issued to you by
any Jurisdiction(s).  Additionally, in order to comply with North
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American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) requirements, if the license you
are surrendering was issued in Mexico or Canada you must provide a
driving record within 30 days of application.

If you are applying for an Idaho Class D (non-commercial) driver’s license
and have not been issued a CDL in any jurisdiction, you are not required to
surrender your foreign licenses.

Once you are issued an Idaho driver’s license, you are not allowed to use or
show your foreign license for the purpose of operating a motor vehicle. If
you are stopped for a potential driving violation and you show your foreign
license, you could be cited and fined for a misdemeanor.

• Liability Signer -  If you are under 18 years old, you need to have a
parent or legal guardian with you to sign consent for you to be
licensed. The signer assumes legal responsibility for your actions as a
driver. If the liability signer is not the mother or father listed on your
birth certificate, you must provide acceptable legal documents (i.e.
adoption records or court guardianship documents). The identity of the
liability signer will be verified. If the signer’s name is different from
the one appearing on your birth certificate, additional documents such
as a marriage license or divorce decree may be required to verify
relationship. If the liability signer cannot be present to sign the
application at the county office, the liability signer must complete a
power of attorney form giving another person authority to sign for him
or her. If you are married, your spouse, who must be at least 18 years
of age, may sign for you. As long as you are under 18, the person who
signs for you may withdraw consent at any time, which will cause the
department to cancel your driver’s license.

• Driver Training Completion - If you are under 17 years old, you
must provide proof that you have completed an approved driver-
training program. On or after January 1, 2001, you must also provide
proof that the supervised instruction permit requirement has been met.
(See the driver training section of this manual for more information
about these requirements.)

• School Enrollment or Completion - If you are under 18 years old
you will need to provide acceptable proof of enrollment and attendance
in or graduation from a recognized high school or equivalent program.
This proof can be in the form of a verification of compliance slip from
an acceptable school or program you are attending, a high school
diploma, or a general education certificate of completion. When
signing the liability statement, your parent(s) must also sign a
statement that you are in compliance with the school attendance
provisions of Idaho Code.
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EXAMINATIONS
• Vision Screening -  Your vision will be tested and you must meet a

minimum standard of 20/40 vision in at least one eye, with or without
corrective lenses. If you wear glasses or contacts during the vision
screening, a lens restriction will be placed on your driver’s license. If a
lens restriction is placed on your driver’s license, you must always
wear your glasses or contacts when operating a vehicle or you could be
cited and lose your driving privileges for a period of time.

• Written Knowledge Test -  If you are a new applicant or your Idaho
driver’s license has been expired for more than one year, you will be
tested on your knowledge of Idaho traffic laws, highway signs by
shape and symbol, traffic signals, pavement markings, and equipment
required on motor vehicles. All of the information needed to pass the
written test for a class D license or instruction permit is included in this
manual. 

IF YOU FAIL A WRITTEN AND/OR SKILLS TEST, YOU MUST WAIT
THREE DAYS TO RETEST. YOU WILL ALSO NEED TO PAY THE
TEST FEES AGAIN TO RETAKE ANY WRITTEN OR SKILLS TESTS.

• Skills Test - The skills test evaluates your ability to drive a vehicle
safely, demonstrate good driving habits, and obey traffic laws in a
variety of driving situations. The information needed to pass this test is
included in the following chapters. You must pass the written test (if
required) and obtain a receipt showing you have paid the $3.50 fee to
the county for the skills test. A skills test is required for any applicant:
- who has never been licensed before,
- who has completed driver’s training and the supervised instruction

period,
- whose license has been expired for one year or more, 
- whose vision does not meet minimum standards, or
- who presents or surrenders a driver’s license issued by a foreign

country, or whose most-recent driver’s license was issued by a
foreign country.

A skills test may also be required for any applicant:
- having any mental or physical impairment that might affect the safe

operation of a motor vehicle, or
- when an examiner has concerns about the applicant’s ability to safely

operate a motor vehicle, regardless of prior license, experience, or
age.

To schedule a skills test, you need to make an appointment with a
certified skills tester. A list of skills testers in your area will be
provided by the driver’s license office when you make application.
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You must pay the skills test fee of $11.50 directly to the tester.

Your skills test will take about 30 minutes to complete. The test
consists of two parts—the pre-drive check and the driving test. It is
important to make sure the vehicle you bring to the skills test has valid
proof of insurance, is properly registered, is in good running condition,
and is clean and safe to operate. You must also have authorization to
use it if it does not belong to you. 

Unless you have valid driving privileges, you should come to the skills
test in a vehicle driven by a licensed driver. You will not have driving
privileges allowing you to drive at any other time until your driver’s
license is issued.

• Pre-drive check -  During this part of the test, you will be asked to
locate and/or demonstrate the items listed below to determine your
knowledge and that the equipment is in good working order:
- Tires, they must have at least 1/32” of tread on them
- Brakes, including the emergency brake
- Headlights, brake lights, and turn signals in both the front and back
- Windshield and wipers
- Defroster
- Gauges
- Seat Belts
- Horn
- Rear view mirror(s)
- Driver window in good working order
- Emergency flashers
- Passenger door; must open and close
- Arm signals for stopping and signaling to turn

• Driving test -  During this part of the skills test, you will demonstrate
your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle and obey traffic laws
while performing the following maneuvers:
- Street parking and backing
- Parking lot driving
- Business and residential driving
- Freeway or highway driving
- Four right turns and four left turns
- Eight intersections
- Driving through a curve
- Lane changes

You will be tested on proper traffic checks, speed, acceleration and
deceleration, starting and stopping distances, lane position, and vehicle
spacing. You will fail the skills test if you cannot successfully complete the
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pre-drive check or if you accumulate more than 15 errors. You will fail the
skills test immediately for any collision or near collision, any dangerous
action, a serious or persistent violation of law, or lack of cooperation. If
you fail the skills test you must wait three days before re-testing. You will
need to get another receipt from the county for $3.50 and pay another
$11.50 fee to the tester. You are not required to retest with the same tester
and may retest with any tester you choose.

No passengers or pets are permitted in the vehicle during the test. Car
phones or cellular phones must be turned off or disconnected. Loose or
valuable items should not be in the vehicle during the test.

When you have passed your skills test, the tester will give you a sealed
envelope containing your test results. Do not open the envelope—if you
do, the county will not accept your test results.

• Tips
- Be considerate by being on time for your scheduled test. If you are

not able to keep your appointment or are going to be late, let the
tester know.

- Wear comfortable and appropriate clothing and have a clean,
roadworthy car.

- Try to relax but remain alert and listen carefully to the tester’s
instructions. The tester will not ask you to perform an illegal or
unsafe maneuver during the test.

IDENTIFICATION CARDS
The identity and residency documents required to obtain an identification
card are the same as those for a driver’s license. When applying for an
Idaho ID card, you must surrender any ID card and/or driver’s license
issued to you in another state or jurisdiction. If you are 21 years of age or
older, a non-driving ID card is valid for four or eight years. If you are under
age 21, see page 1-12 for details. Expiration periods will vary.

RENEWALS, DUPLICATES, AND EXTENSIONS
• Renewal - If you are 21 or older, you may renew your Idaho driver’s

license in person up to 364 days before the expiration date. A renewal
is valid for either four years or eight years. If you are between the ages
of 21 and 62, you may choose the  eight-year renewal. Your vision will
be checked, and if the examiner thinks it is necessary, a skills test,
visual examination, and/or medical examination may be requested. If
your driver’s license has been expired for one year or more, you will
be required to take the written knowledge test and the skills test. If
your CDL is expired for one year or more and you wish to retain CDL
privileges, you will need to take the written knowledge test for class D,

1-11



all written tests pertinent to the CDL, and a skills test in the class of vehicle
that matches the class of CDL you are applying for.

• Under 18 and 21 - If you are 18 to 20 years of age, your driver’s
license or ID card will show “Under 21 until month/day/year,” and
your license or ID card will expire five days after your 21st birthday. If
you are 15 to 17 years of age, your driver’s license will show “Under
18 until month /day/year,” and your driver’s license will expire five
days after your 18th birthday. If you are 17 years of age or younger,
your ID card will show “Under 18 until month/day/year,” and will
expire five days after your 18th birthday. 

NOTE: If you were issued a driver’s license or ID card after January 1,
2001, you may not renew your license or ID card before your 18th or
21st birthday, whichever applies.

• Renew by Mail - If you have a valid Class D Idaho driver’s license
and are between the ages of 21 and 69 years of age, you may be
eligible to renew your license by mail. This can be done once every
eight years, which means you must go to the driver’s license office
every other renewal period. If you chose the eight-year license option
or your current license had an extension, you are not eligible to renew
by mail. An application to renew by mail is sent to eligible drivers 60
days in advance of their driver’s license’s expiration date. It is mailed
to the address currently on file with the department. 

Once your application has been accepted and approved, you will
receive a sticker that must be affixed to the back of your driver’s
license for the license to be valid. If you have the new (digital) style of
driver’s license with a bar-code printed on the back, you will receive a
renewed license with the same photo shown on your expiring license.
Upon receipt of the new license, destroy your expiring license, as it is
no longer valid. There is an additional $1.00 (sheriff’s administrative
fee) added to the cost of the license when you renew by mail. If you
need to make changes to the information that appears on the face of the
driver’s license, you will need to renew your license in person. You do
not have to renew your driver’s license by mail. You may always
renew it in person.

• Duplicate Licenses - If your Idaho driver’s license is lost, damaged, or
destroyed, you may obtain a duplicate by applying at any sheriff’s
office. You will need to bring an acceptable photo document (see
previous pages for list of acceptable documents). If you find your lost
driver’s license after a duplicate has been issued, it must be destroyed,
or you may surrender the found license to the department or the county
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sheriff’s office. The duplicate driver’s license issued to you becomes your
license of record.

• Extensions - Your Idaho driver’s license will expire on your birthday
in the fourth year or eighth year, depending on which licensing option
you choose, after it is originally issued or renewed. If you are
temporarily out of state at that time, you may apply for an extension of
up to 12 months for $6.50. If necessary, you can request a second 12-
month extension upon reapplication for $6.50. A CDL may be
extended, but a hazardous materials endorsement cannot be extended.
If you are on active duty or a dependent of active-duty military
personnel in the U. S armed forces, you may—during the active-duty
period—apply for an extension of up to four years per application for
$6.50. For more information or an application, contact the department
at the address or telephone number in the front of the manual.

RECORD CHANGES 
• Change of Name - To change the name that is shown on your driver’s

license or identification card, you must apply for a duplicate, or if you
are eligible, you may make the change as you renew your driver’s
license. You will need to provide the examiner at the sheriff’s office
with legal proof of your new name, such as a certified marriage
certificate meeting Idaho standards, divorce decree, or court documents
dated after the current record, and surrender your current driver’s
license and/or ID card.

• Change of Address -  You must notify the Idaho Transportation
Department within 30 days, anytime your address changes. You may
do this by either completing a change-of-address form available at any
county sheriff’s office, or by notifying the department in writing at the
address in the front of the manual. You may also download the change-
of address form via the Internet at www.state.id.us/itd/dmv. 

If you would like a change of address to show on your actual driver’s
license or ID card, you will need to apply for a duplicate, unless you
are eligible to renew the license or ID card. Your record must show
your actual physical address, however a post office box, general
delivery, highway contract (HC) route number or rural route, or
another address may be given for your mailing address.

YOUR LICENSE/ID CARD AND THE LAW
• Whenever you drive, you must have your license with you. 
• Any misuse or mutilation of your driver’s license, permit, or ID card is

a misdemeanor and you can be fined, sentenced to jail, and/or your
license may be suspended. If your license gets worn, wet, or damaged,
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you need to get a duplicate.
• For your own protection, DO NOT:

- lend anyone your driver’s license, permit, or ID card
- use anyone else’s driver’s license, permit, or ID card
- display or possess a fraudulent/altered driver’s license, permit, or ID

card
- allow an unlicensed driver to drive your vehicle (in case of an

accident, both the driver and the owner of the vehicle are responsible
for damage, injury, or death when permission to drive the vehicle has
been given)

- keep a license, permit, or ID card if it has been suspended or canceled

• Providing False Information - If you knowingly provide false
information on a driver’s license, ID card, or permit application, you
are subject to prosecution for perjury and your license, permit, or ID
card will be cancelled. When you apply for a new driver’s license or
permit, duplicate driver’s license, or driver’s license renewal, your
driving record with the Idaho Transportation Department and the
Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS) through the National Driver
Register (NDR) will be examined. 

If there are any outstanding license suspensions, revocations,
cancellations etc. in any jurisdiction, they must be cleared before you
can apply for a driver’s license .

• Donor Designation - If you are 18 years of age or  older, you may
request to have the “DONOR” designation appear on your license or
ID card. The designation identifies your wish to donate your organs
and/or tissues upon your death to those waiting for transplants. 

Organ donors are required to sign a Document of Gift before the
license or ID card can display the donor designation. The Idaho
Transportation Department will submit the Document of Gift to the
donor registry.

• Medical Information - When you apply for a driver’s license, permit,
or ID card, you can request to have a notation placed on the back of the
license regarding any medical condition(s) you have. This may alert
emergency personnel or those who may need to assist you in an
emergency. 

You will need to complete a form and sign a statement that the
condition exists. Prior to the new (digital) style driver’s licenses,
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permits, and ID cards, a separate information card was issued upon request.

• Permanent Disability Notation - Individuals may request the notation
“permanently disabled” on their driver’s license, instruction permit, or
ID card if that person:

(1) has a permanent disability, and 

(2) presents written certification from a licensed physician, licensed
physician’s assistant, or licensed advanced-practice professional
nurse verifying that the person’s stated impairment qualifies as a
permanent disability as provided in Section 49-117, Idaho code,
and 

(3) the department determines that the person meets all other
requirements for issuance of a driver’s license, instruction permit,
or ID card.

A person with a “permanent disability” is a person unable to walk 200
feet or more unassisted by another person or without the aid of a
walker, crutches, braces, prosthetic device, or a wheelchair, or without
great difficulty or discomfort due to any of the following impairment
types: neurological, orthopedic, respiratory, cardiac, arthritic,
blindness, or the absence or loss of function of a limb, and there is no
expectation for a fundamental or marked change in the person’s
condition at any time in the future. A licensed physician, licensed
physician’s assistant, or licensed advanced-practice professional nurse
must certify the individual’s qualification for the “permanent
disability” notation.

Individuals who have received non-expiring disability placards, or
disability license plates may present the corresponding registration
document to the driver’s license examiner to have the “permanent
disability” notation included on their driver’s license, instruction
permit, or ID card.

• Accommodation for Applicants with Disabilities - It is the policy of
the Idaho Transportation Department and its agents that reasonable
accommodations will be made to provide persons with disabilities
equal accessibility to it’s facilities, programs, and services in
accordance with the Americans With Disabilities Act when specific
needs are requested. Please allow the county driver’s license examiner
two weeks to complete the arrangements. Persons with hearing
impairments may call (208) 334-4458.
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• Selective Service Registration - Federal law requires all males who
are 18 to 25 years of age to register with the Selective Service System.
Eligible males will have the opportunity to register when they apply
for a driver’s license or ID card. Applicants who are 16 or 17 years of
age can be automatically registered when they turn 18.

The Selective Service System receives notification of all applicants
who decline the opportunity to register.
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