WTS seeks nominations for three awards

The Treasure Valley chapter of Women in Transportation Seminar (WTS) will accept nominations through Oct. 29 for three awards that it presents annually, said ITD’s Monica Crider.

WTS will announce winners of the awards at its third annual banquet, Dec. 2. The banquet is planned for 6:30 p.m. at the Hatch Ballroom in Boise State University’s Student Union Building. Cost for the banquet is $25 for WTS members and $29 for non-members.

Guest speaker CeCe Gassner of Divas for a Difference will talk about avenues of change and employment changes for women. A no-host reception is planned before the dinner, beginning at 5:30 p.m.

Awards will be presented for Employer of the year, Innovative Transportation Solutions and WTS member of the year. ITD was named employer of the year in 2009, and Stanley Consultants received the innovation honor for its work on the Interstate 84/Vista Interchange. Member of the years was presented to Lisa Vernon of W&H Pacific Consultants.

The Treasure Valley WTS chapter was formed in 2007 and has 41 members, including four from ITD.

Vernon is the chapter vice president. Other officers include Tracy Olsen, W&H Pacific, vice-president; Amy Elliot, CH2MHILL, treasurer; Gloria Chigbrow, Valley Regional Transit, event chairperson; Kelly Fairless, Valley Regional Transit, communications chairperson; and Rex Hansen, American Geotech, corporate relations chairperson.

Crider is the awards committee chairperson.

Published 10-1-2010